A quick run down of the monster so far…

…tech details coming soon….

My kit is from the MAPEX M birch line, and is in the tranparent cherry red finish.
The bass drum is a mighty 22×18, which has a pillow inside and a DANMAR metal patch on the outside, which results in a really clicky attack with plenty of low end.
The toms run 10×8, 12×9, 13×10 and 16×16, with all mounted toms featuring the mapex iso-mounts.
The snare is a real corker. It is a matching birch 14×5, and tuned up really high with an EVANS ST batter gives a real crack to it. On the snare side, the wires are cranked just high enough so that you get fast responce, but not so high as to get that dreaded shallow tom sound with the ghost notes. Also on the snare side is a playing card, which prevents any buzz, and the snares untightening during playing.
Crucial to my setup is my MAPEX double kick pedal, which to be honest, is a tiny bit worn and could do with being replaced soon. I think im going to look into either a TAMA iron cobra or a GIBRALTAR intruder pedal.
No kit would be complete without cymbals, and mine are as follows.
14″ hihats
16″crash
20″ ride
18″ china
12″ splash
12″ china
My sticks are VATER power 5A wood tips.
My cases are PROTECTION RACKET, and include the super size stick bag.
Also on the kit:
for funk and cuban i have various percussin including tambourine, cowbell, and various additional toys.
Crucial also is my stick holders, as i am prone to stick dropping during gigs.

(edited from myspace)

One response to “A quick run down of the monster so far…

  1. Hey man, I’ve decided on the M Birch myself and am reading up on how good these kits are. Just gotta find a way to pay for it now…

Leave a comment